Posted on 13th May 2011No Responses
FICCI leader Amit Mitra, Kolkata mayor win

Kolkata, May 13 (IANS) Leading economist and secretary general of the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FCCI) Amit Mitra won the West Bengal assembly election beating state Finance Minister Asim Dasgupta by an emphatic margin of 26,154 votes.

Mitra, who contested from Khardah in North 24 Parganas district as a Trinamool Congress candidate, baged 83,608 votes while the Communist Party of India-Marxist rival Dasgupta got 57,454 votes.

Dasgupta had been winning the seat since 1987.

Kolkata Mayor Sovan Chatterjee retained his Behala (East) seat defeating CPI-M’s Kumkum Chakraborty by a thumping 48,207 votes.

Chatterjee won 116,447 votes while Chakraborty got 68,240.

Health Minister and CPI-M state secretariat member Surjyakanta Mishra (89,804 votes) retained Narayangarh of West Midnapore defeating Trinamool Congress’ Surya Kanta Atto (82,695) by a margin of 7,109 votes.